Daily Archives: May 29, 2009

Not exactly International ZIne month stuff, but we are getting close

I just got back from a month long trip to the UK and France! I attended the London Zine Symposium, went on a mini UK zine tour, hung out with rad folks and then headed to France for the 20th birthday party of La Fanzinotheque! You can be sure that there will be a zine about my adventures! Check out photos and what not from my trip here: http://alexwrekk.wordpress.com

Now I’m back in the country and gearing up for Portland’s Summer zine events! Maybe you are interested in checking them out:

Friday June 12, 2009-7pm-10pm Stolen Sharpie Revolution official release party and open mic!

Since 2002 Stolen Sharpie Revolution has been the go to book about zines. Well, now it is back and better than ever! Bring your zine to read and join me at the Independent Publishing Resource Center (IPRC) for an evening of zine readings and special Stolen Sharpie Revolution release party book pricing. Plus cake!

Otherwise you can still get copies of SSR here: http://www.smallworldbuttons.com and here: http://brainscan.etsy.com

Saturday June 13, 2009- 10am-7pm Square Foot Zine Fest!

I’m hosting this mini zine fest at the IPRC. The idea is that the table space is open to IPRC members for $5 but that catch is that each person only gets 1 foot of table space so that everyone is equal! Admission to the Square Foot Zine Fest is free. Sign up now! Table space is going quickly! Http://www.iprc.org

July 7, 2009-July 24, 2009 IPRC’s Teen Zine Camp!

Every year the IPRC hosts this summer camp for youth about zines where zines are made and explored and the Portland Zine Symposium is attended. Camp meets 2 times a week for 4 weeks. For more information check out: http://www.iprc.org

July 24,25,26 2009 9th annual Portland Zine Symposium!

Our yearly tradition! The Portland Zine Symposium is a 3 day zine fest and zine social full of workshops, tabling and socializing! Admission is free to everyone. Table space is available for donation and this year is separated into specific days with limited full tables available. In fact, I think all the full tables are gone for Saturday already! So, head on over the http://www.pdxzines.com to register.

Also, we are accepting workshop idea submissions so if you have a great idea for a workshop let us know!

That’s about it for now. Let me know if any of you are headed to the symposium this year. I hope to see you this summer!

If you have zine events happening udring July let me know and I can add them to my event listings!